Your Guide to Chakra Meditation

For people who are busy with their 9-to-5 work, meditation is an alternative to the gym in terms of self-healing and breathing exercise. Meditation is also helpful to boost concentration and brain capacity and it increases your performance at work. There are actually many types of meditation you can do. This time, Attitude Organic would like to introduce you to Chakra Meditation which was popularised by the Indians. Curious to learn about your chakra, what Chakra Meditation is and the guided technique to meditate on your own? Check this article out!

Your Chakra System

Literally translated from ancient Indian language, chakra means “wheel”, understand wheel of energy in your body. Indeed, our body is built on energy, emotions, beliefs, and thoughts. Chakras are all connected so if one chakra does not function; it affects the others, which results in an unbalanced body and mind. Thus, we need to keep them open, balance, and flowing (just like wheel) to the entire body.

There are 7 main chakras which are aligned at the back of our body, starting from the bottom spine to the top of the head.

Chakra Meditation & Chakra System

  1. Root Chakra (Muladara)

This red Muladara is located at the base of your spine. It heavily relates to your basic need such as food, security and comfort. This also connects with mother nature and family. Focus on this chakra if you often feel scared or nervous.

  1. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

This orange Svadhisthana is located in lower abdomen. It governs your pain, pleasure, intimacy, creativity and reproductive organs. To keep this chakra open, explore new world and visit new places.

  1. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

This yellow Manipura is located above your navel. It connects to your sense of power and confidence. When you feel like you’re timid or shy, it’s probably because this chakra in your body is closed or blocked.

  1. Heart Chakra (Anahata)

This green Anahata on your chest is about love, relationships and how we process our emotions. When you feel like it’s hard for you to forgive others, you might want to focus on this chakra. Keeping your heart chakra open helps you to surrender and to accept to whatever happens in life.

  1. Throat Chakra (Visshuddha)

This blue Visshuddha in your throat connects to communication and self-expression. When this chakra is blocked, an isolation feeling might occur. Personal experience and past traumas can block it and keep you quiet.

  1. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

We associate this indigo Ajna to ‘sixth-sense’. In the center of your forehead, it connects to your intelligence, wisdom and intuition. When you feel like you need to make difficult decision, opening this chakra helps a lot.

  1. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

This purple Sahasrara on the top of your head is associated with your spiritual connection with the wider world. If all the chakras work well, crown chakra will help you in connecting to a wider environment and brings you confidence. It also provides direction to your life.

What is Chakra Meditation?

We now understand the chakra system but, what’s the deal with that?

Oftentimes we are aware that there is something wrong with us, either be it our body or mind. The awareness of this unbalanced physique is a first sign that we should do something to change negative energy into positive one.

Chakra Meditation will help you to focus on fixing one chakra or the whole system in your body. It focuses on both emotional and physical aspects. Fixing one chakra helps us to achieve a balanced well-being as all of them are connected. You need to align chakras, so only positive energies circulate in the body.

Guided Chakra Meditation Technique

You might want to try this meditation on your own. Here is the guided technique:

  1. Find a peaceful and quite place to begin with.
  2. Sit in your usual meditation position with your legs folded or touching the floor, either on the floor, bed or any cushion.
  3. Make sure you sit comfortably straight with your spine erected.
  4. Rest your hand comfortably on your knees.
  5. Relax your breath, shoulder, face, chin and close your eyes.
  6. Now visualise in your head a ball of energy that flows in your body starting from the first chakra located in your lower spine.
  7. Only allow positive energy in your thoughts to fill each chakra, and work all the way up to the crown.
  8. Imagine each chakra’s colour and focus on their location.
  9. Don’t hurry. Focus on your chakra for several minutes until you can feel an energy flow in that area.
  10. When you reach the crown chakra with all the positive energy you gained in other chakras, imagine that positivity is pourring you. You can feel that your body radiates with positive vibes.
  11. When you want to finish the meditation session, don’t rush! Take a minute to it in silence while absorbing and keeping those positive energies. Keeping these energies will help you to work through the day!

You will need to practice this technique regularly and after some time, you will find that energy does flow in your chakra. Next time, you could also practice to focus on your chakra individually. Have fun trying! If you are willing to try different self healing techniques and to learn more about energy inside your body, you should read our guide to Crystals For Healing. XXX